Adventures in Babysitting, Part III

(I’m incapable of making a long story short. You’ll need to start here for the first part of the story).

Thankfully, Amalia didn’t make us wait too long.  She called two days later and told me that we passed the first round and she would like to schedule time for me to come over to her home to see the daycare and watch her and her sister in action with the kids.  Score! We had successfully come off as the type of parents good enough for Miss Amalia.  I still wasn’t sure how I would break it to her that we needed somebody when the baby was 10 weeks and I wasn’t breastfeeding, but I figured that I’d ingratiate myself to the point that she wouldn’t be able to say no.

I couldn’t wait for my visit. It was like being invited into a Mormon temple without being Mormon, or to Oprah’s show without being Josh Groban.  By the way she had described her daycare, I was expecting to see brilliant, magical 1 and 2 year olds who could totally go from downward dog into Warrior III without missing a beat. They’d probably be signing questions to Miss Amalia about “Goodnight Gorilla”, like why the zookeeper’s wife had to put all the animals back when it was clearly her husband’s responsibility. I taught myself how to sign “yes” and “no” and “I completely agree. I would’ve kicked him to the curb” just in case that question did come up.  I imagined children that did not cry except for when they wanted more homemade organic pureed beets.  These kids probably didn’t poop either. No, that didn’t seem like behavior becoming of a toddler at Miss Amalia’s daycare. I wondered if a child that sprung from my loins could possibly measure up in Miss. Amalia’s world. (Wait. Do women have loins, or is it just men?)

Being around people I don’t know having awkward conversations is extremely draining for me, so I had prepared for my 45 minute visit as if I were training for a triathlon.  I drank plenty of fluids, got a lot of sleep, practiced answers to questions I thought she might ask, like “which do you prefer the most: the farmer’s market on Randolph  or Whole Foods?” or “describe your daily meditation sequence” both of which I formulated an answer to using the Internet. I had a big carb -filled dinner the night before, just so I wouldn’t pass out from exhaustion, or irritation or judginess.

On the big day, I walked over there with butterflies in my stomach. I was still being judged. And I didn’t really know anything about kids or taking care of them, so I told myself I wouldn’t touch any of the kids.  Just in case I accidentally killed one of them.

It was a warm day and I happened to be wearing sandals.  I found out when Miss Amalia answered the door that shoes were supposed to be left in the hall. No shoes were permitted at any time within the confines of her home. But now I had this awkwardness of having bare feet, which I think is much more gross than wearing the sandals. I think Miss Amalia and I agreed on this.  She brought me some socks before I could step over the threshold into the magical home daycare. If you’ve ever read “Grasshopper Along the Road” (which, if you haven’t, you must) Miss Amalia was exactly like the mosquito that obsessively chants “rules are rules!” and cannot fathom exceptions to any arbitrary rule he makes up.  I’m not a big rules person if the rules are arbitrary.  But again, maybe this is how all daycares were? What did I know?  I put on the socks and apologized for not knowing the rule.

The magical home daycare looked a lot like a regular condo with a lot of toys in it. But they were arranged just so for feng shui purposes, I was told.  The kids were adorable.  And from what I could tell, they cried and they pooped, which I was really surprised about.  Even more surprising was that at least one kid thought I was awesome. I think.  One little 18 month old ran up and hugged me as soon as I got in the door. And he didn’t die right after. He spent most of the visit in my lap. Miss Amalia was astounded. She claimed he only acts that way around her and his mother. Really? Nice. Maybe I would be a good mom after all. And I was so relieved that Miss Amalia didn’t have a rule about kids not being able to cry or poop without being dismissed. And that I didn’t kill any babies.

It was a fun visit. Really. Her sister was a lot less hard-core and rules-based than she was and it kind of made it a little less weird to talk to her. I told them some of my more tame stories that made them laugh, which is really about the only talent I have that usually doesn’t fail me. The kids were bright and lovely and having fun and actually, they really could sign. Which was news to me. I thought all that stuff was bogus, like I did about dogs really staying down in down-stays (which they totally do if you spend thousands training them). And Amalia and her sister took pictures of the kids all the time and then would email them to the parents during the day, which is the next best thing to the live camera feed I got from my doggie daycare. I’m probably making some people uncomfortable with the parallels between my dog and my kids.  I’ll stop, but in my experience, toddlers and dogs aren’t that different.

So I left after my allotted 45 minutes feeling like it was the best place ever and our going there was probably a done deal.  Just as I was walking out, they mentioned that another couple vying for my son’s place was coming the next day. Damn. Maybe I should have brought chocolates or some energy drink or something. Damn.         Damn. Damn. Damn. Fuck. I told them I thought they were spectacular and that my son would be lucky to be taken care of by such good people.  And I meant it. I mean, there were no other alternatives, so they really stacked up nicely compared to leaving him by himself all day.

I went home and ate a tub of Cherry Garcia.  Luckily that isn’t called bingeing when you’re pregnant. I think it’s just called normal. I mean, if you can’t drink your worries away, what other alternatives are there?

I called Miss Amalia the next day to ask about where we were on the list and when she could tell me if we were in or out. She said she was going to hold off on a decision until she met the baby. Who wasn’t going to be born for another 6 weeks. If she said no, then what was I supposed to do?  That’s when I kind of went ballistic.

Love: “Umm…that isn’t going to work.”

Amalia: “Pardon?”

Love: “You can’t just decide a week before whether a family is coming or not! I have a baby that needs to be in a great daycare and I have to know now whether he is in or out at your place so I can make other arrangements if it’s not working out!”

Amalia: “Well, to tell the truth, you are first on our list, but he wouldn’t be here for another six months, and a lot can happen between now and then.”

Love: “What if he came in 3 months? I need you in August, not December.”

Amalia: (silence) “I don’t take children younger than 6 months.”

Love: “Because you can’t or you won’t?”

Amalia: “Well, it is very young to be separated from the mother.”

Love: “I have to go back to school! I can’t change the date that school starts. I trust you. I trust you more than I trust me to be honest. Please make an exception.”

Amalia: “I might have to charge more for a baby that young…”

Love: “Listen, we don’t have a lot of money, but we’re willing to pay you whatever you want if you’ll take him in August.”

Amalia: “I would have to talk to my sister.”

Love: “I need that spot in your daycare. I know very little about taking care of a baby but I know a lot about being in school, which is where I need to be in August. I have no other options. I’m literally begging you. But if you can’t tell me by the end of this week whether we’re in or not, I’ve got to do something else.”

Amalia: “I like you.”

Love: “I like you too.” (I think we’re supposed to kiss here, but the phone made it hard.)

Amalia: “I feel bad for you. You really don’t know much about being a parent.”

Love: “No. I know about being a parent. That is what this conversation is about. I need a good caregiver for my baby and you’re it. If you meant I don’t know much about child care, then you’re right on there. That is no secret. Oh and while we’re on the subject I forgot to tell you I won’t be breastfeeding.”

Amalia: (gasps) “What? Why?”

Love: “I can’t. Physically impossible.” ( Psychologically impossible would be more true. Honest mistake. )

Amalia: “I’ll talk to my sister.”

Love: “Tell her to say yes. We’ll be the best family you have. I swear.”

Amalia: “Okay.  This is a lot of information to take in.” (she is wondering who the hell she is dealing with)

So we ended it there. I was sure that was it for us and Miss Amalia. We’d have to hire a nanny if this didn’t work out, and then selling our kidneys wouldn’t cover it. BD would probably have to go out and turn tricks while I did the night shift at Dunkin’ Donuts. I ate another gallon of Cherry Garcia.

After an excruciating couple of days, Amalia called me back. We were in.

I won! I won! She tacked on another $25 a week, but it seemed like a small price to pay to the daycare gods. I celebrated for a month straight. I went over and visited Miss Amalia’s place up until I gave birth and then brought over my son when he was about 6 weeks. I still thought she was over the top about most stuff, but I was in no position to complain. This was what I wanted, right?

Sometimes you need to be careful what you wish for. (Sorry, Part IV is a must, but I haven’t written it yet. Forthcoming.)

Happy Thanksgiving to you and yours!

Part IV

6 responses to “Adventures in Babysitting, Part III

  1. ooh good! There’s another one! I’m always on the edge of my seat with these stories for some reason! haha

    From Love – That means a lot – thanks. I figure the worst thing that could happen is be labeled a “mommy blog” so hopefully I’m skirting that altogether!

  2. I need to say 2 things.
    1) you can visit the LDS Temple for a week after it’s built and see everything the members of the church see. It’s called ‘the open house’ or something.
    2) I’ve been reading your for a long time. I like you a lot. But often I wonder why you have such low self esteem with your parenting ability. With being pregnant the 1st one – Why is it that you didn’t think you can raise this baby (that you obviously loved already)? I don’t understand – you wanted a baby – you love your kids (i see that) but you don’t want to ‘deal’ with them? ahh i’m sure im getting something wrong here. Please explain?

    From Love – I feel like I shouldn’t answer this, but I’m incapable of not answering an honest question with an honest answer.

    First, I love my children and I’m doing the best job I know how to do to raise them. But I am not a child-worshipper, which is the perception I have of “good” parents. The mothers who are praised seem to me to be mothers who dedicate their lives to serving their children to the exclusion of taking care of themselves, and often the relationship to their partner. Me, on the other hand – I value my self first, my marriage second and my children third. Which is pretty subversive to say. I’m pretty sure the rule is: sure, go ahead and value yourself, but certainly not more than your children! Bad mom!!

    So my jabs at myself for being an inadequate mother stem from a deeply held belief that my health, happiness and well-being are just as important, if not more important, than my children’s and my husband’s. There are a lot of things I feel “good” mothers are supposed to do or think or say that just don’t ring true to me – like breastfeeding, or baby yoga or abandoning a career to raise my kids full-time. For a lot of women, doing those things are true for them. For me, they aren’t. I generally feel alternately sad/guilty/confused/relieved about not being like them, and so all I can do is laugh at myself, because its the best way I know how to get through it all.

    Wow! Longest. reply. to a comment. ever.

  3. I think your honesty is what sealed the deal with Ms. Amalia. I don’t think she had any doubts after you guys after that. I am sure she was secretly looking forward to teaching you all she knew about raising other peoples children. It is way easier to care for someone else’s child that your own. As at stay-at-home mom, I would literally run out of patience within seconds of my children waking up. Once my husband left for work I was trying to swim up stream without a paddle. I was out-numbered and exhausted. I breastfed for about 1 week with my first and didn’t even try with my twins. After my father-in-law watched me breastfeed and wouldn’t leave the hospital room…very weird!…I knew this wasn’t going to work. I was nothing like my sister-in-laws, who had no problem breastfeeding in front of everyone. My mom totally supported my decision not to breastfeed because then lots of peolpe, a.k.a. my husband or anyone who showed up for a visit, could take over the feeding and “bond” with my children. Great! The more people they bonded with the better. Plus, she said that formula had come along way since the 1970’s. She was a nurse and she bottle fed 5 children. I think we all turned out okay.

    All decisions regarding raising your own children can be traumatic. I have always wondered if I would be a calmer and nicer person if I had gone back to work…not that I had a job to go back to. I quit because 1.) I was overwhelmed 2.) my boss had quit, and she was awesome. Actually, I think she was fired. 😦 and 3.) I didn’t trust my new boss. I had shared something with her in confidence that she then decided shouldn’t be kept confidential. That sealed the deal. I was done and moved onto a new career…parenting. I got pregnant in 0ne month and was now throw into the world of “it’s not about me anymore.” Ugh! So, the plan is to save lots of money and make sure they go to a good catholic college and be parented by Jesuits, Dominicans or any other fine upstanding order of priests. Then it will be “all about me again”. 🙂 Maybe I’ll be peaceful, happy, patient, kind, and loving and no one will recognize me.

    From Love, There is no shortage of people out there who want to tell you how to raise your children. I figure you’re damned if you do and you’re damned if you don’t, so you might as well buy them french fries sometimes. 🙂 Thanks for sharing your story.

  4. I’m nervous about where this story is going… but then again, I gather your children are alive and well and capable of Michael Jackson moves, soo… it can’t end too horribly.
    I hope your Turkey Day was faaabulous.

    From Love – Likewise, Belle! The kids are still alive and well. I like my stories to be entertaining, so I’m trying to stay away from Debbie Downers. Next installment will not involve the police or child custody or anybody with a mustache. Rub Nel’s belly for me.

  5. i’m glad u don’t make a long story short – i totally get into your series of stories each time!

    & u’re sooo right! i’m probably in that category of moms that brag about every little thing my kiddos do to the point of annoyance…it’s hard not to sometimes. but i completely agree that we should always put ourselves 1st…without our sanity, the whole damn house is doomed! ;0)

  6. Thanks for the long reply 🙂

Leave a Reply

